A different view on cosmetics.

Dr. Hauschka combines natural cosmetics with research and impact. For us, beauty is not an unattainable ideal but is found in individuality. Our researchers ensure that the work they do protects, rather than exploits, our planet. And our cosmetics restore your skin’s natural balance, instead of interfering with the skin Mother Nature gave you.

We are dedicated plant nerds on a treasure hunt through our natural world. Nature is our muse, our teacher, our role model and the starting point of everything we do. That approach defines our maxim “a different view on research”. Dr. Hauschka won’t patronise you or your skin. We respect the beauty of your individuality and your diversity. And that’s also why we have “a different view on cosmetics”. Plants work to optimum effect in our products and enter into a rich and effective dialogue with your skin. That’s why our cosmetic products are more than purely decorative, both nourishing and stimulating your skin. And that’s exactly what we’re talking about what we say we take a “different view on impact”.

In our Faces series we introduce a number of inspirational women who live out their own vision of our world, of beauty, impact and curiosity, in both their private and professional lives. Amongst others we hear from Dörte de Jesus, Creative Director and founder of Lissome, who shares with us her enduring attitude towards sustainability and mindfulness. Amber Jae Slooten, who researches and experiments in the field of ‘virtual fashion’ and through her work takes a critical view of ‘fast fashion’. And Julia Leeb, photo journalist working in war and conflict zones, who documents both violence and genuine humanity.

 

Anti-war Journalist Julia Leeb and the Impact of the Unseen.

With a strong inner compass, and an emphasis on dignity, humility, and advocacy, Julia Leeb focuses on photography and its power to illuminate the people and stories that are often left out of media and visual culture. As a journalist, photographer, and filmmaker specializing in Virtual Reality, she has documented conflict in places such as the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Egypt, Syria, Libya, Afghanistan, Sudan, Iraq, and Iran. Her widely acclaimed book, North Korea: Anonymous Country was published in 2014 and in 2017, she was nominated for the prestigious Peter Scholl-Latour award for her reporting on women in the DRC. Her recent book, Menschlichkeit in Zeiten der Angst [Humanity in Times of Fear] became a bestseller.

Read more

 

Designer Amber Jae Slooten Explores Identity Without Limits in Digital Fashion

Amber Jae Slooten designs clothing exclusively for digital spaces. By side-stepping the environmental waste and limitations of the physical world, Slooten challenges practices that are destructive and fundamentally unsustainable. Fascinated by both gaming and dress-up as a child, Slooten has connected her two passions with the conviction that the fashion industry must change. She believes in logical solutions and in following her instincts—this lead her to co-found The Fabricant (where she is also Creative Director), a fashion house whose stated intent is, “Always Digital, Never Physical: We waste nothing but data and exploit nothing but our imagination.” Beginning in 2014, she stopped sewing garments and began a search for the best tools for designing in virtual, augmented, and mixed realities. She graduated from the Amsterdam Fashion Institute in 2016.

Read more

 

The Quiet Activism of The Lissome Founder Dörte de Jesus

During her early childhood in the north of Germany, Dörte de Jesus enjoyed exploring and adventuring in the fields and by the sea, ultimately giving her a strong Foundation rooted in independence and respect for the natural world. After years in the fashion world including time at Elle Magazine, she became interested in sustainable fashion, and studied the economic, environmental, and systemic impacts of the industry. She has since expanded her focus to include holistic and alternative ways of linking fashion, beauty, and sustainability. Now working as a creative director, designer, and editorial director of The Lissome Magazine, a regenerative fashion magazine that she curates with photo director Anna Rosa Krau, fashion director Sophia Schwan and an international collective of creatives, she believes that in order to best care for others and the planet, we must simultaneously slow down and care for ourselves. 

Read more

 

Faces

Ein anderer Blick auf Kosmetik.

Dr. Hauschka verbindet Naturkosmetik mit Forschung und Impact. Schönheit liegt für uns in der Individualität, sie ist kein Ideal. Unsere Forschenden schützen durch ihre Arbeit den Planeten, sie beuten ihn nicht aus. Und unsere Kosmetik bringt Haut in Balance, statt in ihre Natur einzugreifen.

Wir sind überzeugte Pflanzennerds, Schatzsuchende der Natur. Sie ist Muse, Lehrerin, Vorbild, der Anfang von allem, was wir tun - das definiert unseren Blick auf Forschung. Dr. Hauschka bevormundet Haut nicht, wir respektieren die Schönheit ihrer Individualität und Diversität – und deshalb besitzen wir einen anderen Blick auf Kosmetik. Pflanzen können in unseren Rezepturen optimal wirken und gehen substanzreich mit der Haut in einen Dialog. Unsere Kosmetikprodukte sind also mehr als dekorativ, sie wirken pflegend und anregend. Genau das meinen wir, wenn wir von einem anderen Blick auf Wirkung sprechen.

Mit der Serie Faces stellen wir inspirierende Frauen vor, die in ihrer Arbeit und privat ihre eigene Sicht auf unsere Welt, auf Schönheit, Impact und Neugierde leben. Dazu gehört u.a. Dörte de Jesus, Creative Director und Gründerin von Lissome, die ihre ungebrochene Einstellung zur Nachhaltigkeit und Achtsamkeit mit uns teilt. Amber Jae Slooten, die im Bereich „virtual fashion“ forscht und experimentiert und sich dadurch mit „fast fashion“ kritisch auseinandersetzt. Und Julia Leeb, die in Kriegs- und Krisenregionen als Fotojournalistin arbeitet und dabei Gewalt ebenso dokumentiert wie reine Menschlichkeit.

 

Anti-Kriegsjournalistin Julia Leeb und die Auswirkungen des Unsichtbaren.

Mit einem starken inneren Kompass und einem Fokus auf Würde, Bescheidenheit und Fürsprache konzentriert sich Julia Leeb auf Fotografie und ihre Fähigkeit, Menschen und Geschichten zu beleuchten, die in den Mainstream-Medien und der visuellen Kultur oft übersehen werden. Als Journalistin, Fotografin und Filmemacherin, die sich auf Virtual Reality spezialisiert hat, hat sie Konflikte in Ländern wie der Demokratischen Republik Kongo (DR Kongo), Ägypten, Syrien, Libyen, Afghanistan, Sudan, Irak und Iran dokumentiert. Ihr vielbeachtetes Buch, North Korea: Anonymous Country, wurde 2014 veröffentlicht und im Jahr 2017 wurde sie für ihre Berichterstattung über Frauen in der DR Kongo für den renommierten Peter Scholl-Latour-Preis nominiert.

Zum Artikel

 

Designerin Amber Jae Slooten erforscht mithilfe digitaler Mode Identität ohne Grenzen.

Amber Jae Slooten entwirft ausschließlich Kleidung für digitale Räume. Indem sie die Verschmutzung der Umwelt und Einschränkungen der physischen Welt umgeht, stellt Slooten Praktiken in Frage, die destruktiv und grundsätzlich nicht nachhaltig sind. In ihrer Kindheit hatte Slooten zwei große Leidenschaften: Gaming und das Verkleiden. Unter anderem auf Grundlage dieser frühen Hobbies entstand später die Überzeugung, dass sich die Modeindustrie grundlegend ändern muss. Sie glaubt an logische Lösungen und vertraut ihren Instinkten. Das brachte sie dazu, The Fabricant mitzugründen, ein Modehaus, bei dem sie außerdem auch Kreativdirektorin ist. The Fabricant’s erklärtes Ziel lautet: "Immer digital, nie physisch: Wir verbrauchen nichts außer Daten und erschließen nichts außer unserer Fantasie". Seit 2014 näht sie keine Kleider mehr und sucht stattdessen nach den besten Tools für Designs in virtuellen, erweiterten und gemischten Realitäten. 2016 machte sie ihren Abschluss am Amsterdam Fashion Institute.

Zum Artikel

 

Der stille Aktivismus der The Lissome-Gründerin Dörte de Jesus.

Ihre frühe Kindheit verbrachte Dörte de Jesus in Norddeutschland. Zahlreiche Erkundungstouren entlang der weiten Felder und dem Meer formten in ihr ein starkes Fundament für die Liebe zur Natur und den Respekt für die Unabhängigkeit. Nach Jahren in der Modewelt, unter anderem beim Elle Magazine, begann sie sich für nachhaltige Mode zu interessieren und beschäftigte sich eingehend mit den wirtschaftlichen, ökologischen und systemischen Auswirkungen der Branche. In der Konsequenz liegt ihr Fokus seitdem darauf, ganzheitliche und alternative Wege zu finden, Mode, Schönheit und Zukunftsfähigkeit miteinander zu verbinden. Heute arbeitet sie als Kreativdirektorin, Designerin und Redaktionsleiterin des The Lissome Magazine, einem „regenerativen“ Modemagazin, das sie zusammen mit der Fotodirektorin Anna Rosa Krau, der Modedirektorin Sophia Schwan und einem internationalen Kollektiv aus Kreativen kuratiert. Dörte ist der festen Überzeugung, dass Entschleunigung und die Fähigkeit, für sich selbst Sorge zu tragen notwendig sind, um anderen Menschen und dem Planeten etwas Gutes tun zu können.

Zum Artikel

 

Faces